Now TV Trial! Day 1

6:40pm So, here it is – the start of my NOW TV Trial!  Thanks to Amy at Now TV for helping with this.  Over the next week, we’ll be testing out NOW TV, and I’ll be telling you more about it along with way.

So what does the NOW TV box look like?

2014-09-24 18.42.17

Smaller box than what I thought…  So, I open the box…

2014-09-24 18.43.45

Notice the kids toys still all over the floor!  So, there’s a power lead, HDMI lead, manual, batteries, and the box itself… oh, and remote control.

2014-09-24 18.48.12

Now TV box now connected up next to my TV…  looking good…

2014-09-24 19.50.53

Software being added…

2014-09-24 19.58.04

2014-09-24 20.34.33

By 8:30pm, I have Sky Sports 3 on… and ‘World Cup of Pool’ live.  Actually, I was online by about 8pm, and the first thing I did was check out the BBC Sport App (there was live coverage of Scottish Football not being shown on the TV Red Button channel, so a good bonus), I checked out Demand 5 (my two year old loves Thomas and Friends and there’s 260 episodes now at the touch of a button!), and had a quick look at 4od (and played the start of an early episode of Whose Line is It Anyway?).  All shows loaded fine, with just a slight pause whilst they loaded, certainly no buffering no far which I perhaps expected.

The main technical issue I had during configuration was with my TP-Link device which enables me to have Wi-Fi in my lounge – the devices had become ‘unpaired’ so I rang their customer service centre where I thankfully got help to ‘pair’ the devices again.

And now, it’s working.  I’ve also installed Tunein Radio and You Tube to my app list – not tried these out yet, but will do as the week goes on.

Come back tomorrow for another update – and if you have any questions let me know I’ll try and answer them.  Maybe you’re thinking of getting a Now TV box (and let’s face it, for £9.99 it’s a reasonable price), and you’re wondering what you can get.  So far, impressed.

Don’t forget you can tweet me @chriscbenson and like the Sport on Freeview UK Blog on Facebook now too!

Chris

Leave a Reply

