MC Diary – Heaton Park Mo Run 2015

MC Diary – Heaton Park Mo Run 2015

If you need an MC/Compere for an event, please contact me, get in touch, I’d love to hear from you.  Chris

Sunday November 22nd 2015:

7am:

After a quick coffee and a toasted teacake, I leave a very bitterly cold Bradford.  As I approach the M606, I do something I have never done before in my life.  I pick up a hitch hiker, an elderly gentleman, who had obviously fallen on hard times and was desperately trying to get to Solihull for a job interview tomorrow working in a warehouse over Christmas.  I drop him off at Birch Services on the M62, and hope that he’ll make it to Solihull for his interview.

 

8am:

I send a message out on Twitter – giving an advertisement for my hitch hiker, seeing if I can get him down the M6 – worth a try 🙂

I arrive at Heaton Park near Manchester, and introduce myself to the organisers of today’s Mo 5k and 10k runs – one of 17 Mo Running events which has taken place this year.  All for a great cause – Movember, which seems to get bigger and bigger every year.

For more info on the Mo Running events take a look at https://www.mo-running.com/ – you can also find them on Twitter @Mo_Running

 

8:36am:

 

9:40am:

I have the job of picking out the best fancy dress outfits from the 1000 people that have attended today!  Four medals to give out – not an easy task!  I really enjoyed doing this though – I’d had a walk around, and picked out people to interview, etc… and got them all to line up in front of the waiting participants.  In the end, Captain America and Zorro were among the winners I picked!

 

9:50am:

Warm up time – and the sight of almost 20 nuns and an archbishop doing the warm up on top of a hill in the distance with British Military Fitness is brilliant, I wish I’d got a picture 🙂

 

10am:

Start of the 5k race – I run over and count the runners down…. and away they go…

 

10:10am:

The start of the 10k race – and after that I hang around near the finish line to provide commentary as the runners conclude their 5k and 10k races.  I also manage to do a couple of interviews with some of the winners – Giles Bennett, the winners of the men’s 5k was the first person I interviewed and you could genuinely tell Giles had enjoyed coming down to Heaton Park and taking part – I think he won last year as well!  Giles completed 5k in 19 minutes and 33 seconds, well done Giles!

I also got to interview Anne Hyland who won the Female 10k race, in 46 minutes 56 seconds, a brilliant time.  I literally stopped Anne for an interview seconds after she’d finished running – the women’s race was so close, with Stephanie Mallett just seconds behind Anne, she’d made Anne work all the way to the finish!  Anne later said she won the event last year and she might try for the hat trick in 2016!

 

11:45am:

All runners have finished – a great morning, it’s great for runners of all abilities; there’s timing facilities available for those who want to take it more seriously but also has the fancy-dress ‘fun’ element to attract runners who perhaps don’t participate in any other event during the year.

 

The timing team from http://www.resultsbase.net really helped me out today and did a terrific job and keeping runners informed of their times.  Take a look at the results for yourself on their website.

 

12:15pm:

Back on the M62 towards Bradford.  I peep over at Birch Services where I dropped the hitch hiker off this morning.  He’s still waiting for a lift.  My heart sinks.  I honestly thought he’d have got another lift in the four and a half hours since I’d dropped him off.  Just hope he gets to Solihull…  I guess we’ll never know.

 

 

Leave a Reply

