Access All Areas Vinyl – Steve Hackett


And now, the first in an occasional series, where we will be reviewing recent vinyl releases…

Access All Areas is Demon Music Group’s superb new mid-price range featuring a wide array of the world’s biggest and most influential recording artists delivering full length, hit packed live sets from their prime 70s, 80s & 90s eras. The concerts were originally recorded for broadcast on ITV and released here for the first time, a catalogue housing the most superb live recordings in the artists’ history. 

Demon Music Group (DMG) is the UK’s largest independent record company; specialising in the creative production and marketing of CDs, Digital Music and music DVDs.

 Access All Areas – Steve Hackett (Vinyl Picture Disc)

  • Label: Access All Areas
  • Format: Vinyl LP
  • Date: 30/10/2015
  • Cat#: DEMREC33
  • Barcode: 5014797891050
  • Genre: Blues, Prog Rock, Rock

Ex-Genesis guitarist Hackett’s single-minded pursuit of excellence has inspired Eddie Van Halen, no less. And this 1990 show cherrypicks from the catalogue Steve established since leaving the band in 1977, choosing just one Genesis highlight, ‘In That Quiet Earth’. Solo standouts include ‘Please Don’t Touch’ and ‘Spectral Mornings’, title tracks of his second and third albums from 1978 and ‘79, while ‘Theatre Of Sleep’ would not appear on record until 1993. His band – Ian Ellis on bass, Julian Colbeck on keyboards and Fudge Smith on drums with brother John Hackett contributing flute, guitar and bass pedals – impress throughout.

We’ve hand-picked some of the hardest rocking and most sort after performances and cut them to limited edition heavyweight picture discs. Each record will be limited to 500 copies worldwide and feature the hits and soaring moments from the live recordings in these very special collectors items.

Demon Records & Access All Areas are excited to announce a special range of limited edition Picture Discs from the illustrious AAA catalogue.

  • LP Track Listing
  1. Camino Royale
  2. Please Don’t Touch
  3. Every Day
  4. In That Quiet Earth
  5. Black Light
  6. Theatre Of Sleep
  7. Jazz Jam
  8. Spectral Mornings


Chris’s Review:

It’s Saturday morning – and whilst looking after the kids, it seems a perfect opportunity to sample this vinyl release of Mr Hackett. This is a pretty good concert – and the sound quality on the album is superb -the fact that it’s recorded live really comes across, even on my low-budget vinyl player. One thing I had to get used to when playing this vinyl is playing a picture disc!  It takes some getting used to on the eyes, but that aside – it’s a great set.  Never really listened to Hackett’s back catalogue before, so this was all new to me.  Camino Royale is a good track which is a great start to the show.  The concert was originally recorded for broadcast on ITV back in 1990 – the full concert is available on You Tube and is 62 minutes long.  Sadly, six songs have been edited out for the LP release – Depth Charge, Wonderpatch, In The Heart of the City, Horizons, Jacquzzi, and Clocks are available on the CD release but not here.  Well worth a look though – and keep an eye out for future reviews!  Chris


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s